South African Population Research
Infrastructure Network


The project integrates the three existing Health and Demographic Surveillance System (HDSS) nodes in South Africa, namely:

  • Agincourt HDSS in Bushbuckridge District, Mpumalanga -established in 1992 with a current population of 115,000
  • Dikgale HDSS in Dikgale District, Limpopo-established in 1996, with a current population of 35,000
  • Africa Health Research Institute HDSS in uMkhanyakude District, KwaZulu-Natal-established in 2000, with a population of 165,000

HDSS nodes

The network of HDSS nodes will be expanded to include new nodes in Gauteng (urban), eThekwini (urban), Eastern Cape (rural) and Western Cape (urban). The expanded network will cover a more inclusive spectrum of sections of impoverished yet dynamically developing populations, and incorporate dynamic, bi-directional, migration flows linking poor, rural communities with urban centres.